How to Make a Compliment or File a Complaint

The Live Oak Police Department is dedicated to providing the best police service possible to the residents and visitors of Live Oak. Police employees are carefully selected and given the best training possible in order to provide professional service. In addition, public input and compliments are welcomed and appreciated. However, you may have occasion to lodge a complaint in reference to the actions of a member of the Live Oak Police Department. In order to be responsive to you, we are providing the following information about how complaints are made, how they are investigated and their results.

Any person wishing to make a compliment or complaint may do so by coming into the Live Oak Police Department, 8022 Shin Oak, Live Oak, Texas, or by e-mail to Complaints or compliments can be reported 24 hours a day to any department supervisor or from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays to a member of the Professional Standards Unit.


TEXAS STATE LAW (Government Code 614.022) requires that all complaints against police officers be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Just as citizens who are arrested must be notified of the charges against them, police officers must be given copies of complaints before any disciplinary action may be taken. The person who claims to be aggrieved must make the complaint. Other persons involved in the incident may give statements as a witness.

False Complaints

People who intentionally make false complaints or allegations against police officers violate Chapter 37 of the Texas Penal Code. Texas law provides punishment for an individual adjudged guilty of committing an offense if, with intent to deceive and with knowledge of the statements meaning, he / she makes a false statement under oath or swears to the truth of a false statement previously made; and the statement is required or authorized by law to be made under oath.

A person who commits an offense under this section can be charged with offenses ranging from a Class B Misdemeanor to a Felony of the Third Degree. Punishments can range from confinement of 180 days in jail to 10 years imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $10,000. This information is not intended to intimidate the complainant or any witness, but is provided to avoid retaliation against police officers or departmental staff.

Complaints can be reported 24-hours a day to any department supervisor or from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. weekdays to a member of the Professional Standards Unit.

What Happens To My Complaint After It Is Received?

All complaints received by the Police Department Office are routed by the severity of the complaint. The most serious types of complaints investigated by the Internal Affairs Section involve allegations such as excessive force, any discharge of firearms or serious rules violations. Complaints comparatively less serious in nature, such as rude behavior or improper procedure, are forwarded to the individual officer's division for investigation. In every case, the person making the complaint will be notified of the final disposition either by telephone or U.S. Mail.

Back To Top